Governance and Management

Brief background to formation of the Governance Structure

In preparation for its formal registration as a Non Governmental Organisation (NGO) TASO elected its first Board of Trustees (BOT) in 1991. In 1992, the first ever Annual General Meeting was held chaired by the first BOT Chairman - Dr. Sam Kalibala. To date, TASO has had seven (7) Chairpersons and these include; Dr. Sam Kalibala, Bishop Lucas Gonahasa (the late), Dr. David Matovu, Dr. Juliet Tembe (the late), Prof. David Serwadda, Prof. Francis Omaswa and Mr. Vincent Mboti Okoth Ogola (current). 

Current Governance Structure

The current structure is made up of the Patron and the Board of Trustees who govern the entire organisation. The Board is represented at each of the Centers of Excellence by the Centre Advisory Committees (CAC).

The Patron. She provides continued guidance to the organisation with specific emphasis on advocacy and resource mobilisation. 

The Board of Trustees (BOT). This is a body of volunteers who are elected by the General Assembly held every September. It provides the policy direction for the organisation in addition to appointing and supervising the Executive Director. All Board members must be fully paid up subscriber members. The Board members are also elected according to competence and their contribution towards the overall strategic direction of the organisation. The current BOT is made up of a Chairperson, a Vice Chaiperson, an honorary Secretary, an honorary Treasurer, a female clients' representative, a male clients' representative, a founders' representative, four (4) members and the Executive Director as an ex officio member. 

The Center Advisory Committees (CAC). Like the BOT, these committees are made up of volunteers elected by Subscriber members at the center during their Centre General Meetings held between August and September every year. They too are elected according their startegic contribution in the community and have to be fully paid up Suscbriber members. TASO has 11 CACs at its Centers of Mulago, Entebbe, Jinja, Masaka, Mbarara, Rukungiri, Masindi, Gulu, Mbale, Tororo and Soroti. 

The Clients' Council (CC). This is a committee which governs the client body at every Center of Excellence. It acts as a bridge between the clients and the Center Management. All the committees ensure that there is a female and male in the leadrship structure. For example, if the Chairperson is female, then the secretary is male and vice versa. The Chairperson and Secretary are automatically members of the Center Advisory Committee.  TASO has 11 CCs at its Centers of Mulago, Entebbe, Jinja, Masaka, Mbarara, Rukungiri, Masindi, Gulu, Mbale, Tororo and Soroti. 


Members of the Board of Trustees

Chairperson:   Mr. Vincent Mboti Okoth Ogola

Vice Chairperson: Mr. Emmy Ngabirano

Honorary Treasurer: Mr. Charles Barugahare

Honorary Secretary: Mr. Bernard Osenda Hamala

Clients' Representatives:

Ms. Betty Oker

Mr. Yorkson Okoth

Founder Members Representatives:

Dr. Jane N. Mulemwa


Ms. Stella Tumusiime

Rev. Florence Bukenya

Prof. Sam Okware

Mr. Edgar Naturinda


TASO Management is headed by an Executive Director who is assisted by six (6) directors who provide overall supervision to the different departments both at Headquarters and other TASO units. 

The Management Team

Executive Director - Dr. Etukoit B. Michael

Director Programme Management and Capacity Development - Dr. Kenneth Mugisha

Director Finance and Grants - Mr. Gordon Karukoma

Director Human Resources and Administration - Mrs. Lydia Cathy Tamale

Chief Internal Auditor - Mr. Emmanuel Wandera

Principla Senior Technical Advisor Projects - Mr. Sam Isiko

Coordinator Grants Management Unit - Mr. Dick Muhwezi


Each TASO Center of Excellence is headed by a Center Programme Manager (CPM) assisted by five (5) departmental team leads for Medical, Psychosocial, Human resources and operations, Finance and Monitoring and Evaluation.  

Center Programme Managers

Mulago - Mr. Ceasar Mafabi

Entebbe - Mr. Robert Nkabala

Jinja - Mr. Edmund Tayebwa

Masaka - Dr. Kakumba Kizito

Mbarara - Mr. Wilber Tusimiire

Rukungiri - Ms. Agnes Kateba

Masindi - Dr. Priscilla Ajambo

Gulu - Mr. Michael Ochwo

Mbale - Mr. Charles Odoi

Tororo - Dr. Ronald Opito

Soroti - Dr. Sarah Alinga